Senior Staff & Development

Rami Nashashibi: Executive Director

director@imancentral.org
Rami Nashashibi has limited availability for public speaking engagements in 2019.
Please click here to request a speaker for your event.

Rami Nashashibi is the executive director of the Inner-City Muslim Action Network (IMAN). He is a MacArthur “Genius Grant” Fellow and a 2018 Opus Prize laureate. He received a Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Chicago and has taught courses at multiple universities since, including a teaching appointment at the Chicago Theological Seminary. He was appointed by President Barack Obama to the President’s Advisory Council on Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships.

Rami serves on the board of the Marguerite Casey Foundation, and is an advisor to a number of strategic initiatives across the country. His work with IMAN continues to feature in many national and international media outlets.

Harriet Lewis: Senior Director

harriet@imancentral.org
Harriet Lewis has an eclectic professional background, and has worked and volunteered in service to others for over twenty years. She has been the executive director of organizations that serve women internationally, local small business owners, survivors of domestic violence, and youth. A former U.S. Peace Corps Volunteer to Guinea-Bissau, she co-founded an organization that served refugee and immigrant women, and has presented internationally to leaders in business, health professions, and government. Harriet holds a PhD from Walden University in Human Services-Social Policy Analysis and Planning, and an MPA in Nonprofit Management from the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Mansoor Sabree: Director | IMAN Atlanta

mansoor@imancentral.org
Mansoor Sabree has long served as a community leader in Atlanta through being a full time imam (religious leader), non-profit director and organizer. After completing tenure as the Director and Imam of the Atlanta Masjid, Mansoor joined the IMAN team in December 2015. Mansoor has lectured throughout the United Sates as well as in West Africa and the Middle East on a range of topics including Islam in America, community development, African American history and social justice. Mansoor is fluent in Arabic and is a fellow of the American Muslim Civic Leadership Institute (AMCLI) at the University of Southern California.

Alia J. Bilal: Associate Director | Development & Communications

alia@imancentral.org
Alia is responsible for cultivating and maintaining individual donors in order to sustain and advance IMAN’s critical social justice work, and engaging other organizations and institutions around strategic programs and initiatives. In her over ten years at IMAN, Alia has worked on development, community organizing, and policy, advocating on issues related to food, criminal, and juvenile justice, and strategizing around creative new ways to get healthy foods and safe physical activities into Chicago neighborhoods.

A native of Chicago’s South Side, Alia graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with a degree in International Studies and a concentration in Islamic World Studies. She studied Arabic and Islamic history in Cairo, Egypt, and is a graduate of the Civic Leadership Academy at the University of Chicago. Alia has given talks and conducted workshops on the connection between faith and social justice, IMAN’s community organizing model, and access to healthy food both locally and across the United States. She was an appointee of the Equity Advisory Council of the Chicago Commission on Human Relations and lives with her husband and son on Chicago’s South Side.

Madeehah Muhammad: Development Associate

madeehah@imancentral.org
Madeehah has served at IMAN since 2003. She attended Barry University for Pre-K Primary Montessori Education. She also worked at Clara Mohammed School in Miami as a Pre-K instructor for four years.

Elizabeth Oller: Volunteer Engagement Coordinator

elizabeth.oller@imancentral.org

Health Center Staff

Sofia M. Adawy, MD: IMAN Health Clinic Director

sofia@imancentral.org

Sean Burke: Director of Health Center Operations

sean@imancentral.org

Muna Odeh, PA: Physician’s Assistant

muna@imancentral.org

Kristen Hasbargen, PA: Physician’s Assistant

kristen@imancentral.org

Maysoon Haleem, RHIT: Health Information Coordinator

maysoon@imancentral.org
Maysoon Haleem was born and raised on the Southwest Side of Chicago and is a proud first generation Palestinian-American. Maysoon earned her bachelor’s degree in Health Information Management from Rasmussen College, and has a history of commitment to the organ transplant community. Maysoon is a living donor (to her son in 1992), which led to her founding Miracles Made Thru Research, a nonprofit organization that organizes fundraisers to support research on pediatric liver transplantation in Chicago and in New Haven, CT.

Previously, Maysoon has served on the Family Advisory Board at University of Chicago Hospitals and she recently joined the America Transplant Foundation’s 1+1=LIFE mentorship program, where she will provide valuable input to families based on her experience as a mother of a living organ transplant recipient.

Donica Ousley: Healthcare Navigator

donica@imancentral.org

Natali Rehman, LMFT: Behavioral Health Manager

natali@imancentral.org
Natali Rehman, LMFT serves as Behavioral Health Manager where she oversees the Behavioral Health department and provides direct clinical services to patients at IMAN’s Health Center. Natali graduated from Adler School of Professional Psychology with a Master’s Degree in Marriage and Family Therapy. She is currently licensed as a Marriage and Family Therapist. She comes from a biracial Arab and Latino background that has allowed her to bring culturally competent services to her patients. Natali has worked throughout the South Side for many years, providing bilingual services in individual, marriage, couples, group and family therapy. Her passion lies in strengthening, supporting, and helping families navigate the challenges of life.

Organizing Staff

Shamar Hemphill: Associate Director | Organizing & Strategy

shamar@imancentral.org
Shamar brings with him vast experience in the areas of civic engagement, community organizing and youth development. Born on the South Side of Chicago.  He attended Langston University in 1999 and began studying Sociology.  Upon his return to Chicago in 2005, he took a position at the Mosque Foundation as youth coordinator, working with both Arab and African American Muslim Youth.  In 2007, Shamar was recruited to participate in Public Allies, a leadership development program started by Michelle Obama.  After graduating from Public Allies in 2008, Shamar began working for the Inner-City Muslim Action Network as coordinator for the organization’s youth department. He posses many years experience working in low-income neighborhoods throughout the Chicagoland area, both as an Organizer & Adult Ally to young people.

Sara Hamdan: Muslim Run Corner Store Manager & Organizer

sara@imancentral.org
Sara Hamdan was raised in the Chicagoland area, with roots in Palestine. In 2011, Sara graduated from the University of Illinois at Chicago with a degree in Anthropology. Prior to joining IMAN, Sara worked with the Illinois Coalition for Immigrant and Refugee Rights administering programs and working in the field with community-based organizations across the state. Sara has experience developing and implementing programing for Muslim American youth particularly around issues of identity exploration and creative expression. Sara currently manages IMAN’s Muslim Run Corner Store Campaign.

Nasir Blackwell: Staff Organizer

nasir@imancentral.org

Eric Rodriguez: Food Ecos Coordinator

eric@imancentral.org

Arts & Culture Staff

Sadia Nawab: Arts & Culture Manager

sadia@imancentral.org
Sadia Nawab is a community organizer, youth and arts educator, artist and a mother. As the Arts & Culture Manager of the Inner-city Muslim Action Network (IMAN), Sadia has been organizing disconnected communities through concerts, festivals, youth programs, creative placemaking and a neighborhood ceramic arts studio. Having been raised in many communities, and a graduate of Anthropology, Sadia has been inspired by understanding identities, culture and community. Her passion is in serving disadvantaged individuals and communities towards justice and self-efficacy through cultural capital and the creative class. Keep in touch with Sadia on Twitter @msdija07!

Binta Diallo: Arts Administrative Coordinator

binta@imancentral.org

Green ReEntry Staff

Ali Rashad: Green ReEntry Program Manager

ali@imancentral.org

Vera Lee Robinson: Green ReEntry Curriculum and Job Development Manager

veralee@imancentral.org

Bilal Evans: Green ReEntry Coordinator

bilal@imancentral.org

William Moore: Case Manager

william@imancentral.org
William “Billy” Moore has been involved with reentry work for over 10 years. He is currently enrolled at Northeastern Illinois University studying social work. Given his passion for the work, he looks forward to joining IMAN and its Green ReEntry program, where he’ll be working on the front lines to restoring peace and model productive values in the community.

Gemali Ibrahim: Case Manager

gemali@imancentral.org

Rafiq Green: Case Manager

rafiq@imancentral.org

Najm Anderson: Case Manager

najm@imancentral.org

Communications Staff

Niema Dancy: Communications Manager

niema@imancentral.org

Operations, Facilities & Public Safety

Troy Alim: Director of Operations, Facilities & Public Safety

troy@imancentral.org

Lisa Holmes-Sevier: Finance Manager

lisa@imancentral.org

Shalay Brewclaw: Finance Assistant

shalay@imancentral.org

Angela E. Rosario: Operations, Facilities & Public Safety Manager

angela@imancentral.org
Angela joined the IMAN family in 2007 as Receptionist / Office Manager. She is now the Operations and Facilities Manager. Angela graduated from Wilbur Wright College and for five years served as Security Manager at Sofitel Water Tower Hotel. Angela is certified in CPR and Basic First Aid, is a Certified Nursing Assistant, a Designated Fire Deputy certified by the Chicago Fire Department, and is certified in emergency preparedness.

Human Resources

Ammiel Mateen: Human Resources Manager

ammiel@imancentral.org
Ammiel is accountable for IMAN’s high-level administrative functions, human resources, and event management. She also directs IMAN’s Farmers’ Market – the first ever, full-scale farmers’ market in the Chicago Lawn area. Ammiel was drawn to IMAN through her appreciation of organizing and advocacy programs. Her parents were storied community activists in Flint, Michigan, and for the last 20 years Ammiel has followed in their footsteps.

Ammiel is also an avid runner and coach who has completed over 30 races, including the 2015 Boston Marathon. In 2008, she founded the Aquilla Nisaa Project, an organization created to inspire, empower and provide life skills training to young women and children. Ammiel received a Bachelors of Science in Business Administration and Economics from Greensboro College. She has also been certified as a Professional in Human Resources by DePaul University.

 

To request an IMAN staff member for a speaking engagement, please use the
Speaker Request Form.